Going Caveman: Making Friction Fire

Tomorrow is my 23rd birthday and as a birthday present to myself, I signed up for a class on Friction Fire Making.  I thought it would be a fun way to experience the caveman lifestyle I’ve been promoting for the past year, as well as learn a necessary survival skill if I’m ever living off-grid.

So early Monday morning I drove to Fredericksburg, Virginia and spent the day with Tim MacWelch, the founder of Earth Connection, along with two other students: Paul and Bob.

friction fire making tools, notice there are no matches!

When the class started we were given 10 minutes to create a sustainable fire, WITH the help of a lighter.  Ten minutes later I had a pile of crispy looking leaves on the ground and I was the only one who hadn’t started a fire.  And somehow I was supposed to learn to do this without a lighter?  I was beginning to think I wasn’t cut out for this…

But I turned out to have a little caveman in me after all.  After spending the next several hours learning about tinder, wood materials, bow drills, and practicing the proper technique… I had successfully created a sustainable fire!  And that’s right, I didn’t even need a lighter 🙂

my very own fire!!

I left the class that day with a smile from ear-to-ear and a whole new respect for my ancestors.  Making friction fire might be fun, but it is certainly a LOT of work.

9 thoughts on “Going Caveman: Making Friction Fire

  1. Happy Birthday Becca…I will be celebrating my birthday, which is June 8th, a more traditional way – in Ocean City. I think you should try out for the Survivor television show, seriously and I think you have what it takes to win.

    • Haha, well thank you Earlene… I’ll definitely give a shout-out to you if I’m ever on TV 🙂

      And happy early birthday to you!! Enjoy Ocean City, looks like the weather should be nice!

Leave a Reply

