Calf’s Liver with Bacon & Spinach

So last week Cat, from Things My Belly Likes, posted The Creative Kitchen Challenge in which she challenged all of her followers to cook one thing that scared them every day for a week.  That was a bit ambitious for me; but I appreciated the challenge nevertheless.  So I scaled it down a bit and decided to cook one thing that scared me for one day… and I chose LIVER.

I keep hearing about how awesome liver is.  Mark’s Daily Apple, Deep Nutrition, and other blogs like KatieDid say it is a nutritional powerhouse.  When a body has an excess of protein, sugar, vitamins, and minerals it is stored in the liver.  This means a healthy liver is chock full of vitamins A, B, and C, as well as folate, niacin, pantothenic acid, and magnesium.

So over the weekend I went to the local Amish Market and bought myself a half pound of baby beef liver.  After I got home and started looking up recipes, I realized I should have bought some onions to go with it.  But instead I decided to improvise with a little bacon instead (shocker!).  Thanks to epicurious for the inspiration.

Calf’s Liver with Bacon & Spinach
Ingredients:

  • ½ pound calf’s liver
  • ½ cup whole milk
  • 4 slices of bacon
  • ¼ cup coconut flour
  • ½ tsp salt
  • ½ tsp pepper
  • Spinach

Soak the liver in the milk in a bowl for approximately 20 minutes.  Cook your bacon while the liver is soaking.  When the bacon is done cooking, remove it from the pan and let it sit on a paper towel.  Then mix together the coconut flour, salt, and pepper.  After the liver is done soaking remove it from the milk, shake off the excess moisture, and then dredge it in the coconut flour mixture.  Cook the liver over medium heat in the leftover bacon grease.  It should cook approximately 4 minutes and should still be pink in the middle.  When the liver is done cooking, serve it over a bed of spinach and top it with the strips of cooked bacon.  Enjoy all the nutrients… if nothing else! Hehe 🙂

13 thoughts on “Calf’s Liver with Bacon & Spinach

    • Well thank you! The texture definitely seemed strange at first… but if offal is going to make me feel like Wonder Woman…. then that’s just another reason to try and get used to it haha

  1. Thanks Becca – love that you took part in the challenge. This looks amazing (and I hate liver!). I’m ready to give it a go…if I can find a decent source, so jealous of your Amish market 🙂
    Do you think you’ll cook liver again? Are you converted?

    • Well the texture definitely takes a little getting used to… but because I know it’s full of nutrients I’ll keep cooking it. Definitely still prefer burgers though! haha

  2. Becca..I used to give my husband and kids liver for dinner at least twice a month…I think that’s why they don’t eat it now, but I loved it. This morning I heard Dr. Oz tell a studio audience that we should not eat liver because the liver is the storage place for toxins, poisons, etc. I had only heard good things about eating liver. He did not elaborate so I’m going to do my own investigation.

  3. Pingback: The Creative Kitchen Challenge Round-Up « Things My Belly Likes

Leave a comment