Oil Cleansing Method: All-Natural Face Wash

Since I’ve gone Primal, many aspects of my life have changed for the better. The most notable being my digestion, my body composition, and my overall mental well-being. One aspect I have continued to struggle with, however, is my skin.

Prior to going Primal I was on antibiotic acne medication. For the year or so that I took this medication, I had near-perfect skin. Yet, things that seem too good to be true often are. While researching Primal nutrition I started to understand how much damage antibiotics can do to your body, especially when taking them daily.

Specifically, antibiotics:

  • Kill off your good bacteria in the process of killing the bad. Now I know why I used to be so infection-prone…
  • Cause antibiotic resistance. So in the future if I needed to take antibiotics for a life-threatening illness, they would be less effective since I had taken them so long for acne.

Unfortunately when I stopped taking the antibiotics my acne came back almost immediately… and my improved diet seemed to have little to no positive effect. Here is a picture of my skin on a “good day” back in September 2011.

please excuse the dumb look on my face 😛

A couple of months ago I decided to start trying the Oil Cleansing Method that I had heard about from Cave Girl Eats. It basically says that commercial skin care products used to “fight acne” usually make your skin worse by stripping away your skin’s natural oils. This is a viscous cycle because your skin then over-produces oil, and this over-production leads to clogged pores.

The benefits of cleaning your skin with oil are:

  •  Oil dissolves oil. By using oil to cleanse your skin you will actually dissolve away the oil that is clogging your pores.
  • Your body naturally produces oil for a reason. Oil lubricates, heals, protects, and moisturizes your skin. Cleansing with it has the same benefits.

I have been using the Oil Cleansing Method to wash my face about 3-4 times a week for the past 2 months or so and have noticed a huge improvement in my skin.  Here is a picture of my skin taken last week (May 2012) on another “good day.”

As you can see, my skin is still far from perfect, but personally I think it looks a LOT better. And it feels a lot better too. I highly recommend the Oil Cleansing Method for those suffering from acne as well as those who just want an all-natural and inexpensive alternative to commercial face wash.

Oil Cleansing Method, All-Natural Face Wash:

  • A soft washcloth
  • Your oil blend (1 part castor oil, 4 parts sunflower seed oil)
  • Hot running water

Rub a quarter size of the oil blend over your face and then massage it deeply into your pores. After you’ve thoroughly massaged the blend into your skin take your washcloth and soak it in the hot running water. It’s very important that the water is hot; cold water will not open up your pores. Then take the washcloth and press it against your face until it cools. Repeat soaking the washcloth in hot water and holding it against your face until the oil blend is completely removed from your skin.  Note: I usually do this in the shower, where you have easy access to lots of hot water.


11 thoughts on “Oil Cleansing Method: All-Natural Face Wash

  1. Interesting. I never thought about oil. I have gone back to baking soda for my face, when I actually use anything. Your skin looks nice and the skin tone looks more even. Very pretty!

  2. I’ve wanted to try this for so long but I’m always kind of put off by the fact that it’s OIL (sounds stupid I know but I hate the feel of anything greasy on my skin and it seems like it would take ages to scrub it off).

    Can you use any particular oil (I’ve a big bottle of olive that might do) and is it good at taking off make-up?

    P.S your expression in the first pics did make me chuckle 🙂 and also acne, or no acne, you are v pretty 🙂

    • Thanks Cat! 🙂

      Yes, as long as you still use the castor oil (that’s the most important part) you can replace the sunflower seed oil with olive oil.

      And yeah, it’s awesome at taking off make-up. I rub it over my eyes and haven’t had any problems. And yeah, the face that it’s OIL felt weird to me too — but you start to get used to it.

      Have a good weekend!

  3. I’m a new follower and new at blogs. I am making many healthy life changes and appreciate what you and others share. Thanks You! 🙂

  4. Hi. I have a few questions about OCM. I started doing it a month ago and I’m not sure I’m doing it right. I generally believe that less irritation = less acne, so the hot water and the washcloth parts freak me out. I also don’t know how to find the perfect oil blend. I’m using castor and grapeseed right now.
    When you rub it in, does it actually almost get sticky? I rubbed it in longer last night and I think maybe it’s the first time I did it properly. But, today my face is irritated and dry… Did you have a “purge” breakout at first?
    Thank you so much,
    Nancy

    • Hi Nancy,

      The hot water should be hot, but not burning you. If it’s uncomfortable to splash the water into your face, then the water is too hot.

      The washcloth is helpful, but not necessary. I actually rarely use them anymore. I just use hot water and my hands to wash the oil off. If you’re going to use one – don’t rub it on your face. Just gently press it against your face to open up your pores.

      I did get a “purge” breakout at first, but if your skin is breaking out a lot or is getting really dry – you probably need to change the ratio of the oils. Typically if your skin is getting dry it means you’re using too much castor oil. If your current ratio is 75% grapeseed oil and 25% castor oil. Try a 80/20 ratio and see if that helps.

      I’ve been using the OCM for over 6 months now, and still LOVE it. Let me know if you have any more questions! 🙂

      • Thanks for replying! I’ll keep trying. Do you rub in the oil until it doesn’t really feel oily anymore? Did you notice any difference with hormonal breakouts?
        Do you always use sunflower seed oil?
        Thanks!

      • I rub the oil in for about 30 seconds, but it depends on how my skin feels. I’m still using the original bottles of castor oil and sunflower seed oil (after almost 9 months!), so yes I always use sunflower seed oil. That’s one of my favorite things about the Oil Cleansing Method: it’s simple, effective, and much cheaper than commercial face wash.

        And yes, I always break out a little right after my period – even when using the Oil Cleansing Method. But my hormonal breakouts are much less severe. Good luck!!

Leave a Reply

