Apple & Banana Sauce

One of the benefits of being a “Super-Senior” is that you get to enjoy an extra Spring Break.  Next week I’ll be lucky enough to spend 4 days in Panama City, Florida… which inevitably means I’ll be spending a lot of time in my bikini.  So in preparation for that… I decided to consciously limit my carbohydrate intake until I leave.

Unfortunately this decision was poorly timed, being that I just stocked up on nature’s high-carbohydrate candy: fruit.

But being a frugal college girl, I’m not one to waste food.  So I got inspired by allrecipes.com and decided to use my apples and bananas to make: Apple & Banana Sauce.  That way I can use my fruit before they go bad, freeze the sauce, and enjoy it when I get back from the beach.

I still don’t know about cake… but looks like you actually can have your apples and eat them too 😉 

Apple & Banana Sauce
Ingredients:  

  • 4 apples
  • 2 bananas
  • ¾ cup water
  • ¼ cup coconut palm sugar
  • ½ teaspoon cinnamon

Using a vegetable peeler, remove the skin from your apples.  Then cut away the core and chop the skinless apples into small pieces.  Next, peel your bananas and chop them into small pieces as well.  Put all of your chopped fruit into a large saucepan then add in the water, coconut palm sugar, and cinnamon.

Cook everything together on medium heat for 15-20 minutes, or until the apples are soft.  Remove the saucepan from the heat, let cool, and mash together until it reaches your desired consistency.

And don’t forget to notice how fabulous this made your kitchen smell!

4 thoughts on “Apple & Banana Sauce

  1. Ingenious! My bananas never last long. Because I live in a hot climate they are pretty much on a timer from the moment they leave the store and I have to indulge in a crazy cram-bananas-into-my-face race. Next time I’ll opt for the sauce option, much more sensible. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

