Valentine’s Day RESULTS

I originally said I was going to reach my Valentine’s Day Goals by working out 5 days a week.  As I continued to read Beyond Brawn: The Insider’s Encyclopedia on how to build Muscle & Might, however, Stuart McRobert began to advocate working out less and resting more… specifically only lifting hard 2 (maybe 3) days a week.  He said this schedule was not only easier to maintain but would provide you with bigger muscle gains in the long run.

At first I thought this sounded lazy, and so for the first 2 weeks I stuck to my original workout plan.  But then my numbers started to level-off and my class schedule started to pick up.  Suddenly I found myself with less time, less energy, and no improvements in the gym.  And at that point I figured I had nothing to lose, so I decided to give Stuart’s workout less/rest more approach a try…

And the weird thing was… it worked.  I began to have more energy and started making consistent progress in the gym again.  And ultimately was able to reach 5 out of my 8 Valentine’s Day goals.

Abs on January 15 vs. Abs on February 14th

Goals:                                                            Results:

Bench: 95 lbs x 5 reps                               Bench: 92 lbs x 5 reps
Squat: 165 lbs x 5 reps                              Squat: 165 lbs x 5 reps
Front Squat: 95 lbs x 5 reps                    Front Squat: 100 lbs x 5 reps
Overhead Press: 75 lbs x 5 reps            Overhead Press: 75 lbs x 5 reps
Deadlift: 145 lbs x 5 reps                          Deadlift: 145 lbs x 5 reps
Chin-up: 2                                                       Chin-Up: 1
Pull-Down: 8 x 5 reps:                               Pull-Down: 7.5 x 5 reps
Dips: 5                                                              Dips: 5

So all in all… I’m going to count the day as a success.  I even got a surprise Valentine… my adorable nephew Wally 🙂

6 thoughts on “Valentine’s Day RESULTS

  1. Less is absolutely more. Rest is when we get stronger. I’m down to a single brutally hard 10 minute workout every 5 to 7 days. Congrats on hitting your V-Day goal.

  2. Well done lady! Rest is the best for accomplishing goals. I try to sleep 8-9 hours a night. I have noticed a huge difference in my progress, body comp, energy levels, and complexion (bonus!). I’ve been contemplating going down to 4 days and now your progress just confirms what I was thinking.

Leave a Reply

