Acupuncture…

Monique & I

A few months back my friend Monique talked me into buying a Groupon for an acupuncture session with her.  A one-hour session at the Chinese Acupuncture & Herb Center, a $100 value, was selling for $29.  A couple of weeks ago we finally got to use them.

I showed up without any specific health problem in mind, but after being handed a 4-page form asking about my physical condition and stress levels… I quickly realized that acupuncture is an alternative to traditional medicine… and not just a fun spa treatment you do with friends.

Acupuncture uses needle insertion into the body in order to stimulate electromagnetic signals, activate opiod systems, and cause changes in your brain chemistry.  This helps to release pain-killing biochemicals, and regulate blood pressure, blood flow, and body temperature… all of which can help your immune system’s reaction to sickness.  Acupuncture is used to treat everything from pain, to stress, to menstrual irregularity, indigestion, addictions, and more.  It is also 100% natural… and therefore 100% primal 😉

I decided to get it done on my lower left back, since it had been feeling very tight lately… probably due to all the weight-training.  For an extra $20 bucks I could add cupping, which applies heated suction to the body.  Apparently it’s much for effective for treating muscle pain, and even though I didn’t know if she was just trying to make an extra $20, I decided to go for it.

Believe it or not, I couldn’t feel the needles at all.  And while I could definitely feel the cups, it was a warm suction sensation that was so relaxing it put me to sleep.  About 45 minutes later I was being woken and told my treatment was finished.

As I was traveling home I realized… my back felt great.  The stiffness was completely gone.  And the best part is – it’s been about 2 week since I had the treatment and my back still feels good. Granted I didn’t have a severe issue, so I’m not sure everyone would have such a magical reaction after one treatment, but it was awesome nonetheless.

The only side-effect was the bruises the cups left on my back.  It looked like I had been abused by an angry octopus or something… and those lovely things stuck around for several days…

my back post-acupuncture... don't let it scare you!

Would I recommend acupuncture to a friend?  Yes.

Would I consider it as an alternative to traditional medicine in the future?  Yes.

One thought on “Acupuncture…

Leave a comment