Baking-Soda Exfoliant

I first heard about using baking-soda as an exfoliant from Fran Kerr, writer of HighonHealth.org

She recommended gently massaging it into your skin, once a day, by mixing it in with a creamy facial cleanser.  The process seemed simple enough… so I decided to give it a try.  For the past several months I have been washing my face with a calming facial cleanser, then exfoliating with baking soda (without washing off the facial cleanser), and then using a little more calming facial cleanser to wash everything off.  Since starting this routine I have noticed a significant improvement in my skin.  I highly recommend that you try it! 😀

Here are five reasons why baking-soda makes a great exfoliant:

  • It’s All-Natural.  Most commercial brands of exfoliants list over 20 different ingredients including chemicals, dye, and fragrance.  Baking-soda lists one: Sodium Bicarbonate, which is found naturally in nature.
  • It’s Affordable.  Go onto drugstore.com and search “exfoliator.” Over 11 pages of products will come up, all of them ranging within $4 and $75.  Now go to your local Trader Joe’s and find the baking soda… it costs 99 cents.  That’s 25% of the cost of the cheapest commercial brand available… let alone the more expensive ones.  Baking-soda is by far the most affordable option.
  • It’s Gentle.  Baking-soda can be used every day without irritating your skin.  That’s because it’s a powdery substance, unlike many commercial brands which contain sharp, abrasive grains that can actually cause more harm to your skin than good.
  • It has Healing Properties.  Baking-soda is an anti-inflammatory substance, which means it can help prevent acne by calming your skin and also help reduce the appearance of acne scars.

 And most importantly…

  • It Works.  I personally have noticed a significant improvement in my skin from using baking-soda as an exfoliant including: fewer breakouts, faster healing time, and less noticeable acne scars.
6 thoughts on “Baking-Soda Exfoliant

  1. I’m currently doing a coconut oil test. I’m just adding it to the right side of my face for a few months. Then I’ll be able to see if there is a difference.

    • What a great idea. I use coconut oil on my skin as a moisturizer, but I’ve been nervous to try it on my face because I’ve heard it makes some people break out.

      Please let me know how it works out!

  2. I went through a phase where I used baking soda for everything. I used it as body wash, shampoo, toothpaste, etc. Contemplating going back after I run out of the products that I currently have.

      • I was thinking about this post this morning and wanted to share this homemade shampoo with you. A friend recommended it to me and I love using it. It does take some getting used to, but it is worth it. 🙂

        Ingredients
        1 c. Dr. Bronner’s organic castile liquid soap (I bought the lavender scented)
        2 Tbs. apple cider vinegar
        3/4 Tbs. tea tree & Vit. E oil (or just one oil only, etc.)
        1/4 c. water
        1 (16 oz) spray bottle
        Directions
        Combine together and store in a spray bottle. You can also add various fragrances to your desire, such as lavender, euycaliptus, etc. This shampoo will be more liquidy than your standard shampoo, but sprays on really well. Rubbing through your hair first works well to activate the suds and than scrubbing into scalp. Your hair will feel slightly more greasy than normal, but that is actually more natural anyway. Most modern shampoos actually dry out your hair, removing the natural oils. Plus it is two in one – shampoo & conditioner!

Leave a Reply

