Spicy Almond-Butter Meatballs

So after my Almond-Butter Bacon Cookies were such a success, I started to think about how almond-butter would taste with other kinds of meat.  Besides bacon… sometimes there is nothing more satisfying then sinking your teeth into a delicious burger.  And thus – the idea for an Almond-Butter Burger was born.

Once again, I googled it to see if anybody else had beat me to the punch.  It turns out that a lot of people actually use peanut sauce as a burger topping, but not too surprisingly, very few people have incorporated the two ingredients together pre-cooking.  I did stumble upon CDKitchen’s recipe for Peanut-Butter Meatballs, however, and quickly got inspired.  Per usual I primal-fied her recipe and swapped a few ingredients to accommodate what I had in my pantry.

I know a lot of you might be freaked out by this.  But I can honestly say that the following recipe produced some of the most delicious meatballs I have ever eaten.  I dare you to let this recipe rock your world, just like it rocked mine 🙂

Spicy Almond-Butter Meatballs
Ingredients: 

  • 1 lb ground beef (I used 80/20)
  • 1 cup almond-butter (I used raw, crunchy, and unsalted)
  • 1 egg
  • ½ cup diced onion
  • 3 tablespoons Taco Mix Seasoning (Trader Joe’s)
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • ½ teaspoon ground pepper
  • 2 tbsp coconut oil

Stir together the almond-butter, egg, onion, taco mix seasoning, salt, and pepper until they are well combined.  Then add your almond-butter mixture to the ground beef and mix them together.  It will feel sticky, but don’t be afraid to use your hands and get a little messy for this.

In a large skillet, heat up your coconut oil over medium heat.  While the oil is getting hot, use a cookie dough scoop to form your meatballs.  (My scoop held about 2 tbsp, but you can always use your hands or a spoon.  The scoop just helps since the mixture is so sticky).  Once your meatballs are formed and your oil is hot, add the balls to your skillet and cook until they are browned on all sides and cooked through.

Let cool, and enjoy the best meatballs you have ever had!

3 thoughts on “Spicy Almond-Butter Meatballs

  1. Pingback: Meatballs with an Almond Butter Twist | The Journey of Two

Leave a Reply

