Homemade Dip Station FAIL

This winter break I found myself with a lot of free time on my hands.  So in an effort to use my time wisely and save a little money… I decided to build a homemade dip station.

The process sounded simple enough. In fact all of the instructional sites made it sound easy.  I specifically remember reading “will cost you less than $20” and “will take you less than an hour.

A Homemade PVC Dip Station Requires:

  • 4 – 3 ft. segments of 2 in. PVC pipe
  • 4 – 2ft. segments of 2 in. PVC pipe
  • 4 – 3 in. segments of 2 in. PVC pipe
  • 2 – 1 ½ ft. segments of 2 in. PVC pipe
  • 8 elbows
  • 4 T’s
  • PVC cement

And the good news is: I made it! 🙂

And the bad news is: it was NOT easy!

In total, the materials cost me $45.  This is still cheaper than the commercial ones, which retail for $80 not including shipping,  but $45 is still more than twice the price of the original $20 that I thought it would be.

It also took me 3 trips to Home Depot.  I acknowledge this was mostly my fault; I may have forgotten to get the 3 inch segments cut and then later realized I had bought the wrong size elbows… but still.

But most importantly, it’s not safe.  It stands up straight and supports my body weight, but the thing wobbles more than it would during an earthquake.  This is partly because the guy at Home Depot didn’t cut the pipes perfectly and partly my own fault.  But if I continue to use it I can tell it’s only a matter of time until I’ll be crashing to the ground…loudly and painfully.

So what’s the lesson here?  It is possible to make your own dip station out of PVC pipe.  A handier person than myself could have probably done a much better job.  But for the average joe: just by yourself one.  Some things are better left to a professional 🙂

7 thoughts on “Homemade Dip Station FAIL

  1. I feel like it would’ve been an epic fail if I tried it (I debated it-for the BodyRocking), but decided not to…

  2. You need 2 more T’s and another piece of 2″ pipe to go between one of the uprights near the top. This will provide stability. You will have to cut out a piece of the two uprights so that when the T’s are inserted the uprights will still be the same length as the other two. Here is a pic of what I’m talking about: http://www.google.com/imgres?imgurl=http://1.bp.blogspot.com/_sEgpJke-b0k/TBkQtAvx4KI/AAAAAAAAA3o/4DhJE2Cs5EY/s1600/photo-1.jpg&imgrefurl=http://trinitytraining.blogspot.com/2010/06/diy-gear-dip-station.html&h=800&w=600&sz=95&tbnid=DuDNWjuvTVa0QM:&tbnh=90&tbnw=68&zoom=1&usg=__8sdauSxan4eCpDiqFJieb4A45SE=&docid=i77cVqJAwMM0aM&hl=en&sa=X&ei=UfrpT9jeFqr50gH1xfiYDQ&sqi=2&ved=0CFsQ9QEwAA&dur=337

Leave a Reply

