Garlic Hummus Face Mask

me in the hummus mask!

When my sister Sarah went Primal one of the first things she said to me was “You’re telling me I can’t eat chick peas anymore… but I love hummus!”  Well Sarah, looks like you don’t have to say goodbye to your hummus after all. 🙂  Turns out that the chickpeas in hummus are a good source of Zinc, which is an essential mineral known to help heal wounds such as acne scars. And when made into a hummus mixed with Garlic (which is a naturally anti-bacterial, anti-fungal and anti-viral food) happens to make a great face mask.

I used to use ProActiv’s “Renewing Mask” which had a list of ingredients including: water, kaolin, glycereth-26, omega-6 linoleic acid, cetearyl alcohol, magnesium aluminum silicate, zinc oxide, ceteareth-20, sodium lauroyl sarcosinate, omega-3 linolenic acid, cymbopogon schoenauthus extract, geranium maculatum extract, melaleuca alternifolia leaf oil, tocopherol, tocopheryl acetate, butylenes glycol, hydrated silica, ethoxydiglycol, ethylparaben, methylparaben, fragrance, and titanium dioxide.

You may be wondering why I choose to start using garlic-hummus as a face mask instead of this popular commercial brand.  Frankly that list of ingredients scares me; I don’t know what the majority of those things are.  After adopting Primal nutrition I started to think about how the concept of using only REAL ingredients could be applied to more than my person’s diet.  It wasn’t long before I began asking myself: If I’m no longer consuming chemically processed ingredients then why am I still using chemically processed ingredients on my skin?  If I’m not going to put chemicals into my body, then why would I put chemicals ON my body?

Eventually I stumbled upon a website created by Fran Kerr called High on Health.  Once I started reading Fran’s articles I was finally motivated to actually put the concept of natural skincare into application.  Since then I began using a completely natural skincare routine, part of which includes this hummus mask.

Garlic Hummus Face Mask:

  • Garlic Hummus (Mine made by Sunneen Health Foods, INC. and purchased at MOM’s.  Its list of ingredients include: Chick Peas, Tahini, Garlic, Lemon Juice, Sea Salt, and spices… 6 real ingredients compared to Proactiv’s 26 scary ones)

Apply a generous coating of the hummus to your entire face avoiding the mouth and eyes.  Leave on for 20 minutes and then rinse off with warm water. Your skin will immediately feel and look more refreshed.

4 thoughts on “Garlic Hummus Face Mask

  1. I find it strange the rituals that you women must go through – like doing these face masks. The only time I put on a mask is when I’m going to a bank for some extra $$$. 🙂
    I read somewhere that going primal improved the skin, so maybe the face masks won’t be necessary much longer?

Leave a Reply

